Restaurant Review: Kirkland Tap & Trotter

Boston has WAY too many restaurants. I feel like no matter how many places I try, my list doesn’t get any shorter. Perhaps this is because I keep adding new places to my list… ugh my poor wallet! This place was a particular brunch treat because I was able to share it with my boyfriend Nick and eat some  pretty fantastic food.

Kirkland Tap & Trotter is located on 425 Washington Street in Somerville, Massachusetts. It’s a 15 minute walk from the Harvard T stop on the Red Line. Tony Maws is the chef and entrepreneur of Kirkland along with another acclaimed restaurant Craigie on Main. Kirkland Tap & Trotter  used to be The Kirkland Cafe under different ownership and really embodied connecting with the community and being the best dive bar around town. Kirkland Tap & Trotter maintains some of that dive bar/neighborhood charm with innovative menu items.

852

858

I won’t lie, but this brunch was on the pricier side but I can promise worth every penny. Nick and I started with their housemade donut with apple cider glaze. Service was very attentive and they were great at upselling their products hence us buying into a “brunch appetizer”. Not that donuts are ever a hard sell for us… Overall, perfectly sweet donut and fluffy. Perfect sharing size pre-brunch entree.

853854

I ordered the mushroom and reggiano frittata served with a winter vegetable salad and housemade foccacia. Despite being an avid olive hater, the salad and frittata were a great balance for each other. I especially loved the reggiano crusted on top of the frittata! I want more right now just thinking about it!

855

Nick ordered the Crispy Fried Bone-In Pork Chop and it was the best decision of his life. It was served with a fried egg, parsnip puree and foccacia bread. I coudn’t not try a bite with Nick proclaiming how amazing it was. The pork chop was so tender and rich and was enhanced by the fried egg. The foccacia would be great to sop up whatever was left on the plate too! Ugh, I’m still dreaming about that bite.

856857

Kirkland Tap & Trotter is fun for drinks at night as well as they have a fairly creative drink menu. Perfect for casual drinks where you can sit at a table and actually converse with friends. I would definitely recommend KTT to friends!

Thanks for reading and of course, I would always love more restaurant suggestions! Enjoy your weekends!

Leave a Reply

