Am I an adult?

So these last two years in post grad have been nothing but a roller coaster ride. I’ve gone through plenty of downs followed by a couple ups that make all the downs seem worthwhile. As decisions become easier and my answers more innate, I can’t help but wonder: Am I starting to become an adult?

Part of why I started this blog is so I could share my struggles with you guys and hopefully find common ground so I don’t feel like a fish out of water! That being said, I’ve come up with a couple signs of adulthood that may seem small, but mean that you’ve made it! I haven’t completely achieved all of these yet, but I have many years ahead of me to accomplish them! Without further ado, here’s the list!

– You know those stickers you put on the upper left corner of envelopes with your address on them?! Why would I pay for that? Oh wait, you have a stable job, a permanent address and a supporting spouse with expendable income? You’re an adult

-When you remember what day the trash gets picked up in your town and actually take out the trash the night before.

-You become retrospective about your childhood and come to value your relationships much more seriously than before.You achieve this sense of humbleness and gratefulness.

-When your plateware and silverware all match. And perhaps were all bought at the same time.

-When you showcase that plateware and silverware by hosting dinner parties and game nights. Or bookclubs. If that doesn’t scream adult, I don’t know what does.

-Knowing what a PCP is, how to find one, and understanding your healthcare. PCP isn’t a drug, it means Primary Care Physician.

-Speaking of doctors… scheduling doctors appointments for check ups, and not just extreme emergencies like chopping your arm off in a freak kitchen accident.

-Not only filing taxes, but also filing them as an independent! Free from all parent ties!

-Watching your friends get engaged, married, buying houses or having babies around you and wondering when those things are going to happen to you.

-Also having your Facebook and Instagram feeds full of posts about said engagements, weddings, houses or babies.

-When all you wanna do is eat junk food but you get heartburn after two bites of that delicious Shake Burger.

-Staying up late means 11pm and not a minute later. You’ll be out like a light drooling on your couch.

-Two drinks used to mean barely a buzz but now it means being a complete wasteoid.

 

Does anyone have anything else to add? I’m certainly not anywhere close to being a full blown adult at the budding age of 23. Is this something to look forward to?

Something you guys can look forward to is Food for Thought Thursday! I’ll be showing you guys my favorite foodie Instagram accounts to follow! Thanks for reading and be sure to check back in two days!

Leave a Reply

