Social Responsibility

As I’ve grown into a semi-responsible pretend adult, I’ve come to realize that I have an opportunity to have a voice. When I was younger, I thought voting was stupid. I felt like such a small being and how could my one vote make a difference?  I now realize that attitude is what can really get us in trouble.

This mindset doesn’t always have to relate to politics. This is something I’ve sort of written about before as seen in my Cowspiracy post! We can’t  keep abusing and overusing our resources as they aren’t an everlasting infinite supply. However, if we each make a conscious decision to lessen our impact, a collective difference is made. The power of one inspires a trickle down effect and supports large change.

The upcoming presidential election feels more important to me than ever. Personally, I’m a supporter of Bernie Sanders. I have confidence that we will continue to move forward and progress as a country. I’m not trying to preach my political views per say but I think we all have a social responsibility to find out where we align. Republican, Democrat, Independent, Tea Party, write in votes, whatever the case may be. Find your voice and USE it.

As the primary election is coming upon us (and in some states has already happened), it’s important to learn where and when the polls are taking place and of course get registered if you aren’t already. If you’re in college, there are ways to send away for absentee ballots from your home state address and often colleges offer programs to help.

I have really only scratched the surface of understanding how I can use my voice for the better. All I know is that I don’t want to let any opportunity pass by. Although maybe small, I see ways that  I can help. Most recently, I heard that Bernie Sanders wasn’t on the primary ballot in a few states, one of which was my home state of Pennsylvania. I used my hometown address and signed the petition trying to get him back on the ballot! Success! I’m really proud of my involvement and I can’t wait to to see what’s in store for the future.

831

How do you get involved? What differences do you want to see in the future?

On Food for Thought Thursday, I’m going to be revealing my Boston restaurant bucket list! Although I’ve lived here for almost two years now, there are a TON of restaurants that I still can’t wait to try! Thanks for reading and be sure to check back on Thursday!

Leave a Reply

