Townsman and Haru!

Short post for the day! This past week has been filled with a lot of fun activities and included two new restaurants- can’t beat that!

I’ll start with Haru. So for Christmas, the pastry staff promised to take our Chef out for sushi because he’s a total glutton for it. My co-worker chose a restaurant called Haru located minutes off of the Prudential T stop on the Green E line.

I’m really not a huge fan of sushi so I ended up just eating some calamari that was served with a sweet chili peanut sauce. The sauce was a fantastic balance of sweet with a little heat. I don’t have much to say about everyone elses dinners, but I heard nothing but good things about the quality of sushi!

The restaurant itself was really nice; it had simple but elegent decor and the staff there was very polite. Looking for a different kind of drink menu? Look no further with Haru’s ecelectic menu featuring a number of hot and flavored sakis as well as a selection of plum wine.

I also had the pleasure of visiting Townsman for the first time! A could of my friends from college were visiting the city for dinner and I met up with them at the end for a drink and catch up! I was so so happy to see my friends; it had literally been months since we all caught up!

Townsman has an special layout as a restaurant. The restaurant itself is very long. It has a couple tables in the front, followed by a long bar and a couple lounge chairs and small tables for small parties. Towards the back, you can request to be seated at the chef’s table and watch some of the line cooks in action!

Townsman is just a few minutes walk from the Chinatown T stop on the Orange Line. I’ve been really looking forward to a trip to Townsman because the Executive Chef, Matthew Jennings, owned a great restaurant in Providence (my college town) called Farmstead. While I only went for drinks, I was really impressed by their hospitality and knowledge so I cannot wait to make a return trip for dinner!

I ordered Dram #2 which had Jamaican rum, allspice and orange juice. YUM! That’s my kind of drink! Check out a couple pictures below of my time at Townsman!

826829830827828

I have some fun blog posts floating around  in my brain for the upcoming weeks so be sure to check it out! Thanks for reading and have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

