Ramblings

Sometimes writing a blog is hard. There’s nothing worse than disappointing yourself after you’ve set a certain standard (i.e. writing two posts a week). Some weeks I’m overflowing with ideas and I get really excited to work ahead whereas others I hit a wall. I’m sure all writers, professional or not, know exactly what I’m talking about. Writers block. Ugh.
This is exactly what happened to me last week. I write this blog for fun and definitely don’t want it to become a chore or something I don’t look forward to writing. I enjoy sharing my experiences and find that writing posts pushes me to try new things or see things in a different light. Often times, I attribute my lack of writing to the fact that my social life gets in the way. Which is true, but I might be using it as an excuse more often than not.
It makes me wonder, what else am I making excuses for? Big or small? Am I holding myself back in life from things that I want? A friend of mine came to visit Boston after spending a few months travelling abroad. He quit his job to have a once in a lifetime experience. And I’m completely and totally jealous. Will I ever be brave enough to take a risk like that? Leaving the comfort of having a stable job and home to go explore the world? I can’t even get a haircut without getting the opinions of my friends.
I think it’s a pretty slow process but I’ve been spending the last couple years trying to embrace the mindset of living a freer life. Being open to taking more risks, making myself vulnerable, throwing some caution into the wind. I believe that ultimately I will be more likely to have an interesting, fulfilling life. Isn’t this the biggest post grad struggle? What is our purpose? We’re trying to find the best balance of fulfilling adult responsibilities without losing the natural curiosity of being an adolescent.
I’m no expert but so far in my 23 years of life, I’m come to learn that I need to be brave. I need to live without insecurities holding me back. I should cherish my friendships and relationships and continue to make an effort to keep them intact. I guess you could say that these are my New Year’s resolutions of sorts- NEW YEAR NEW ME
Maybe this is a belated post, but does anyone have any resolutions that will help them live a freer life? How do you achieve balance in the post grad world?
Back into the regular swing of things on Food for Thought Thursday! I went to another restaurant in Boston called No. 9 Park!

2 thoughts on “Ramblings

  1. I feel like I have this same problem. I’m 24, 1.5 years post-grad and I feel like things are kind of mundane right now. I go to work, come home, do boring stuff all night, and that’s it. I need to get out more, experience life while I still can! If you figure it out, let me know! 😉 haha.
    Oh, tip for this “Some weeks I’m overflowing with ideas and I get really excited to work ahead whereas others I hit a wall.” — I set a schedule of sorts for what days I post, and then if I write more blog posts than that, I’ll save them in my drafts. Either for next week, or for a week that I’m out of ideas. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the tip! I’m glad I’m not the only one out there experiencing these feelings. I will keep you posted if I figure it out. Thanks for commenting and I’ll be sure to check out your blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

