ZUMBA!

My newest obsession: ZUMBA. I’m a member at the YMCA near my house where they offer free classes daily from zumba to yoga to water aerobics for the old ladies. This past year, I’ve made my peace with going to the gym. You used to have to drag me by my teeth to go and then my attempt at running or lifting weights would be entirely half assed and pathetic. But I spent time investing in my health, especially with the oodles and oodles of pastries that surround me day in and day out.

It wasn’t until recently that I started to take advantage of the classes included in my membership. I had taken one or two classes before in the morning where it was exclusively taught to old ladies and I was the youngest one in there by at least 50 years. My roommate and I even had one lady tell us we were show-offs… as a joke… I think. OOPS.

Since I’m working a new schedule at the Taj, I have a lot more time and flexibility to try out new instructors. I have a dance “background”, if you want to call it that. I danced recreationally for 14 years growing up and have always missed a little piece of me ever since I went to college forcing me to give it up. I think I got my groove back in Zumba! Apologies… bad pun, I know.

HOWEVER. I have a few recurring pet peeves class to class to share…

CHEERLEADER GIRLS

639I mean seriously. Stop putting your hair in a perfectly manicured high pony tail. It swings around too much and your perfect posture and bouncy attitude makes me want to hip check you next time we’re standing by each other.

WOO GIRLS

Trust me, I have lots of fun at Zumba. Especially if I mess up a step, I’m laughing my ass off and smiling between wheezing for breath. I can’t stand when instructors go, “WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO” in the middle of a dance and then put their hand up to their ear making us do it back. I CAN’T BREATHE LET ALONE WOO. And those who WOO… we know what you really mean…

641
CLOSE DANCERS

637Listen dude, step away from me. Or at the very least have some awareness of the space around you if the class is crowded. I can’t keep dodging punches every time you swing your arms around. There’s a mirror RIGHT in front of your face- USE IT.

BUTT JIGGLERS

Don’t jump down my throat for this just yet, cause I’m the last one to pretend that I don’t have a little extra junk in the trunk. My point isn’t about weight or physical characteristics but rather the clothes used to COVER your butt. Yoga pants/work out shorts are completely acceptable UNTIL they start wiggling up your butt crack one cheek at a time leaving nothing but inches between your butt and my discomfort. ITS LIKE THE BUTT IS JUST STARING AT ME.

640KNOW IT ALL’S

Listen, I don’t care how many classes you’ve been to or how many dances you have memorized, don’t you dare correct the teachers during the class. And stop taking all the front spots! You probably stare at yourself 24/7 so I think you can take your vain, self-absorbed jiggly ass to the back of the class and let other people use the mirror to LEARN the work outs!

635

BAD DANCERS

638This can literally mean anything. I commend you if you’re just doing it for fun. That’s the whole point. But if you’re grinding it around acting like hot shit and the rhythm is lacking… JESUS TAKE THE WHEEL

636All in all, I’m really loving these classes and even joke that I’m going to quit my day job and become a certified Zumba instructor so I  have an excuse to buy all the cool clothes and shoes. Sounds good, right? I’m obsessed with Justin Beiber’s song ‘Where Are You Now’ and ‘Back It Up’ by Prince Royce, all thanks to my classes. I’m leaving them below for your listening pleasure!

Does anyone else do Zumba and is obsessed as me? LETS TALK ABOUT OUR FAVORITE SONGS AND SPOTIFY PLAYLISTS!

Looking for yet ANOTHER  or different way to follow my blog?! Bloglovin’ is an easy to use website that creates a feed of blogs of all domain names

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

Check back on Thursday for a new post reviewing a new-ish Cambridge food truck turned restaurant- Naco Taco!

Leave a Reply

