#BikersandBabesBirthday + Birthday Haul

These past couple weeks have been nothing but crazy, in the best of ways. I turned 23 on May 2nd and decided to have a Bikers and Babes Birthday! Everyone who attended was required to dress up in their grungiest, most bad-ass clothing and we’d get all revved up together (get it? Revved up? HA).

313 The party was a success! We hung an American flag in our window and had a bunch of temporary tattoos to put on. I ended up having a quarter sleeve and a neck tattoo by the end of the night! My roommates were great as well- one of them made our mirror in the bathroom the designated “selfie” mirror with #bikersandbabes and we also used two disposable cameras throughout the night so WHO KNOWS what’s on those…

I ended up wearing black pants with a wife beater and a black vest that I found at The Garment District and of course, tied a red bandana around my arm. The outfit was complete with my bad-ass black lace up boots too. We provided some version of Biker Juice aka Gasoline aka Jungle Juice for our friends but most everyone brought their own! I was Pong house champions with my roommate Allie all night and we just kept sinking cups like no other. We finally went out to TITS but then ended up at White Horse for the rest of the night.

314On our way home while waiting for the bus, I was sitting next to this kid who was eating these disgusting lemon chile Dorito things (why I remember that, I don’t know) and we started a conversation with him. While he was kind of pretentious (and also drunk), he had said some sort of off-handed comment about my quarter sleeve of fake tattoos and related it to Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson to which I immediately replied (being an asshole),

I KNOW HIM. WE WRITE LETTERS TO EACH OTHER ALL THE TIME

WHAT. WHY DID I EVEN SAY THAT!? I mean, of course I’m pen pals with Dwayne ‘The Rock’ Johnson. Isn’t everyone? I can’t even say that I’ve met him in person but RATHER I write LETTERS to him? WHAT’S WRONG WITH ME. It really was quite funny- especially the next day when I was reminded that I spent a ton of time convincing him that I knew The Rock. Reeeeeeeaaaaal casual, Abby.

Breakfast consisted of leftover pizza from the night previous, two boxes of Allie’s Donuts from one of my best friends, M&M pancakes, bacon and hasbrowns. Really healthy, I know, but the perfect hangover food! I had such a great birthday; I’m so lucky to have so many amazing people in my life. On top of that, I got so many awesome presents in the mail from my friends and family that I wanted to share!

356I’m super stoked that I got the ice cream attachment for my kitchen aid! You have to freeze the bowl overnight for best results (and I’d make the base the day before too!) but then it only takes 20 to 30 minutes to churn a 2 qt batch! As soon as I’m able to use it, I’ll post a review and a recipe!

355In school, we also used something called a siphon. It’s essentially that tool they use at Starbucks to make whipped cream. You have to buy compressed CO2 chargers that go inside the head and then you shake the cannister with the liquid inside. Once you press the handle, you can make foams, mousses or even something called siphon cake out of it! I’m looking forward to practicing some techniques this summer with this!

354
I also got the Flavor Bible and the Bouchon Bakery cookbook for my birthday. The Flavor Bible is excellent for both sweet and savory cooking. You want to know what spices go with asparagus? Or maybe what other flavors pair well with guavas? Look it up! There’s a TON of suggestions for anything you can think of. And the Bouchon book is a BEAUTIFUL cookbook. I can’t wait to try it out!

353I also got a cute pair of TOMS from my sister, Target and Amazon gift cards, and a cute picture frame and journal from my roommate! I’m so spoiled!

Check back next week for another crazy update about online dating! Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

